Phases of the attack. The importance of the third phase

The attack is divided into three stages

– UP ( upward movement and breathing in)

– DOWN ( downward movement ) or falling

-UP AGAIN or re-ascent  ( upward movement , during this last phase we have the emission of sound )

These three phases are equally  identifiable in the staccato and in the legato, both in the initial and in the subsequent  attacks .Showing a caesura is  not difficult . Usually it is enough to check  your hand and cut out the third stage  of the attack: the re-ascent

or passing from slow to faster tempo


or passing from one pattern to another one and changing time

Leave a Reply